Now Playing: Seven Expressions of the Holy Spirit - Day 7

The seven Spirits of God are seven functions, manifestations, or expressions of the Holy Spirit. But they’re more than that. Revelation 1:4 says: “John, to the seven churches which are in Asia: Grace to you and peace from Him who is and who was and who is to come, and from the seven Spirits who are before His throne.” Here we see that the seven Spirits of God delivered the message of Revelation and later (beginning with Revelation 2:1) we read that the letters to the seven churches mentioned in the book are addressed to the angels (messengers) of each church. In turn, these messengers appear to have the task of taking the messages to the churches.

In the first chapters of Revelation, we see the seven Spirits of God, seven angels (messengers), and the seven churches. Scholars hold dif- ferent views about who the angels (messengers) are. Some believe that they are the pastors of the churches.

In Scripture three types of messengers appear to be called angels— angelic beings, human beings, and the Divine Being, Jesus. Angelic beings visit people with messages throughout Scripture. A human being (the prophet Haggai) is called “the LORD’s messenger” (Hag. 1:13). The Hebrew word mal’ak used in this verse means “angel” or “messenger.” Finally, theologians say that God the Son appears as an angel in the Old Testament, when the phrase “Angel of the LORD” is used (Gen. 16:7–13; Judg. 2:1).

Knowing the different beings that are called angels in the Bible, who or what else could the seven angels in Revelation be? In the first chapter of Revelation, we’re told that the revelation is from both “His angel” and “the seven Spirits” (1:1, 4). Throughout John’s Revelation, there are angelic messengers fulfilling each of the seven functions of the Holy Spirit.

In the Book of Revelation, one Holy Spirit is revealed in seven expressions of the Spirit, but each expression reveals itself as an angelic messenger. This is not to say that the Holy Spirit is an angel. The Holy Spirit expresses Himself through seven different manifestations of His person. Each appears to function as a messenger, not necessarily an angelic being. The seven Spirits of God are a part of the Holy Spirit and the Trinity, so they are not angelic beings. On the other hand, these angelic messengers are not part of the Trinity; rather, they seem to be messengers on behalf of the seven Spirits.

In the Book of Proverbs, we see where many of these expressions “cry aloud” to us. Proverbs 1:20 says, “Wisdom calls aloud outside; She raises her voice in the open squares.” We’re called “to know wisdom and instruction, to perceive the words of understanding” (Prov. 1:2). The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge (Prov. 1:7) and wisdom (Prov. 9:10).

Paul prayed for us that God “may give to you the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of Him” (Eph. 1:17, author’s emphasis). These seven Spirits of God are vitally important to understand as we learn to live and minister in obedience to the Holy Spirit’s promptings.

Media: All Media

The Abiding Anointing: Mantles - Day 10

Todd Bentley, February 06, 2019

Watch Now

Eyes and Lampstands - Day 9

Todd Bentley, February 05, 2019

Watch Now

Each Spirit has a Function - Day 8

Todd Bentley, February 04, 2019

Watch Now

Seven Expressions of the Holy Spirit - Day 7

Todd Bentley, January 20, 2019

Watch Now

The Sevenfold Holy Spirit - Day 6

Todd Bentley, January 19, 2019

Watch Now

Gifts of the Holy Spirit - Day 5

Todd Bentley, January 18, 2019

Watch Now

The Baptism of Fire - Day 4

Todd Bentley, January 17, 2019

Watch Now

The Baptism of the Holy Spirit - Day 3

Todd Bentley, January 16, 2019

Watch Now

Getting to Know Him - Day 2

Todd Bentley, January 15, 2019

Watch Now

The Person of the Holy Spirit - Day 1

Todd Bentley, January 14, 2019

Watch Now